

Øystein Karlsen

Øystein Karlsen is the name behind the highly successful and celebrated Norwegian TV series *Dag* (2010-2015), *One Night* (2017) and *Exit* (2019). Karlsen is also the director of several episodes of the popular and awarded Norwegian-American Netflix Original *Lilyhammer* (2014).

Karlsen is the creator, writer and director of the TV series *Dag*, which became an instant hit with the audience and received rave reviews from a choir of critics fascinated by Karlsen's dark, absurd humor and original style. In total, *Dag* has received a staggering 36 **Golden Screen** nominations (the Norwegian equivalent of an Emmy) and 11 wins, which is a record to date.

2019 saw the premiere of Karlsen's scandalous success series *Exit*, which shook Norway to its core and quickly became the most streamed series in NRK's history. The dark and twisted drama is lauded around the world, and has generated more publicity than any other Norwegian series. Based on true events, *Exit* is set in Norway's high-flying financial world. It revolves around four narcissistic men in their 30s who are looking for an exit from everyday pressures and obligations by using drugs, prostitutes and challenging their own – already low – sets of moral values. *Exit* was nominated in numerous categories at the Golden Screen Awards, including 'Best TV Drama', 'Best Innovation', 'Best Script' and 'Best Director'.

Karlsen is also the writer of the amiable British crime drama *Whitstable Pearl* as well as the creator of *So Long, Marianne*, the hotly anticipated, original series which tells the legendary love story of Canadian singer and poet Leonard Cohen, and his muse Marianne Ihlen.

Karlsen is currently directing *Jo Nesbø's Detective Hole*, the highly anticipated Netflix adaptation of Jo Nesbø's bestselling Harry Hole series, starring Tobias Santelmann, Joel Kinnaman and Pia Tjelta. The series is produced by Working Title, and is shooting in Oslo. Principal photography began on May 23, 2024.

Awards

Series Mania Festival France - So Long, Marianne	2024
Nominated for C21 International Drama Awards (Best Returning Series) UK - Exit	2021
Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best Director) Norway - Exit	2021

Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best Drama) Norway - Exit	2021
Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best Innovation) Norway - Exit	2020
Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best TV Drama) Norway - Exit	2020
Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best Script) Norway - Exit	2020
Golden Screen Award Nominee (Best Director) Norway - Exit	2020
Series Mania (International Panorama) France - Exit	2019
Monte-Carlo TV Festival Nominee (Best Comedy TV Series) Monaco - En natt One Night	2019
Golden Screen Nominee (Best Script) Norway - Dag	2016
Golden Screen Nominee (Best TV Drama) Norway - Dag	2016
Golden Screen (Best Script) Norway - Dag	2013
Golden Screen Nominee (Best TV Drama) Norway - Dag	2013
Seattle International Film Festival Nominee (New Director's Showcase Award) US – $Fuck\ Up$	2013
Golden Screen (Best Script) Norway - Dag	2012
Golden Screen Nominee (Best TV Drama) Norway - Dag	2012
Golden Screen Nominee (Best Direction) Norway - Dag	2012
Golden Screen Nominee (Best TV Drama) Norway - Dag	2011
Golden Screen Nominee (Best Script) Norway - Dag	2011

Filmography

So Long, Marianne (TV Series) (Drama) post-production - Screenplay	2024
Lazarus (TV Series) (Thriller) announced - Writer	2023
Exit (TV Series) (Drama) - Creator, Director, Writer	2019 - 2023
Whitstable Pearl (TV Series) (Crime, Drama) - Writer	2021
Britt-Marie var här Britt-Marie Was Here (Feature film) (Comedy, Drama) - Writer	2019

En natt One Night (TV Series) (Comedy, Drama, Romance) - Writer, Director	2018
Winnerbäck - Ett slags liv Winnerbäck - A Kind of Life (Documentary) - Director	2017
Dag (TV Series) (Comedy, Drama) - Director, Writer	2010 - 2015
Lilyhammer (TV Series) (Comedy, Crime, Drama) - Episode director	2014
Fuck Up (Feature film) (Comedy, Crime, Drama) - Writer, Director	2012
De 7 Dødsyndene The 7 Deadly Sins (Documentary) - Writer, Director	2007
Dice (Short) - Writer, Director	2005
Catch 44 (Short) - Writer, Director	2004